Home » IT Qualifications

IT Qualifications

As the demand for skilled IT specialists continues to grow, so does the importance of acquiring the necessary qualifications to thrive in this competitive field.

Information technology qualifications encompass a wide range of certifications, degrees, and specialised training programs that equip individuals with the knowledge and skills required to excel in various IT roles. IT qualifications validate expertise, provide individuals with a competitive edge in the job market and enhance their career prospects.

The landscape of IT qualifications is diverse and ever-evolving. The listed qualifications fall into these main categories; IT and cloud infrastructure, IT service and project management, software testing, software development, cyber security and data analysis, focusing largely on vendor based professional qualifications.

Click below to find out more
IT Infrastructure

Many businesses rely heavily on robust IT infrastructure and cloud solutions to drive their operations.

IT infrastructure and cloud qualifications cover IT systems architecture, systems administration, storage management, disaster recovery, deployment models, security, and data management. Such qualifications not only enhance career prospects but also contribute to the seamless functioning and digital transformation of organisations in today's interconnected world.

Read more

IT Service Management

The effective management and delivery of IT services have become critical for organisations to stay competitive. IT service management (ITSM) qualifications focus on equipping professionals with the skills and knowledge needed to design, implement, and improve IT service processes.

Qualifications encompass frameworks and methodologies such as ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) and ISO for delivering high-quality IT services. By pursuing ITSM qualifications, individuals demonstrate their ability to align IT services with business objectives, enhance customer satisfaction, and optimise IT service delivery.

Read more

Project Management

The successful execution of projects is vital for organisations to adapt, innovate, and thrive. IT project management qualifications focus on equipping professionals with the skills and knowledge needed to effectively plan, execute, and monitor IT projects.

These qualifications encompass methodologies such as PRINCE2 (Projects IN Controlled Environments) and Agile, including popular frameworks like Scrum and Kanban. By pursuing IT project management qualifications, individuals demonstrate their ability to lead project teams, manage resources, and adapt to changing requirements through iterative and collaborative approaches.

Read more

Software Development

Software development lies at the heart of technological innovation, powering the creation of applications, systems, and solutions that drive modern businesses and improve our daily lives.

By pursuing software development qualifications, individuals will gain the necessary skills and knowledge to design, build, and maintain software products. These qualifications encompass various programming languages, development methodologies, software engineering principles, and best practices.

Software programming and development qualifications validate the skills required for coding, problem solving and delivery of high quality software solutions.

Read more

Software Testing

Software testing plays a critical role in ensuring the quality, reliability, and performance of software applications.

Software testing qualifications cover a range of methodologies, techniques, and tools, enabling professionals to design comprehensive test plans, execute test cases, and report and analyse software defects.

By obtaining software testing qualifications, individuals demonstrate their proficiency in identifying and rectifying software issues, improving user experience, and contributing to the overall success of software development projects.

Read more

Cyber Security

Cyber security is how individuals and organizations reduce the risk of cyber-attack. The core function is to protect devices and services from unauthorised access to stored personal information.

Read more

Data Analysis and Business Intelligence

Business intelligence describes the strategies, technologies, and tools that companies use to obtain business information. It also describes the information itself. Data analytics is the technical process through which we obtain actionable insights from raw data.

Both terms are used interchangeably, with business intelligence being the generalized term that encompasses analytics, but there are distinctions.

The major difference between business intelligence and data analytics is that analytics is geared more toward future predictions and trends, while BI helps people make decisions based on past data.

Read more

Latest IT Jobs

Digital Change Transformation Lead – 6 month FTC

Bedfordshire / £55,000

This is a newly created opportunity for an experienced Digital Product Owner to join a leading MSP in Bedfordshire on an ERP implementation project. This role will be predominantly office based and is paying £55,000 pro rata for a 6 month fixed term contract.   Based in the Bedford / Luton / Stevenage area of...

Read more

IT Support Engineer – Hybrid – Chesterfield

Derbyshire / £24,000

A well-established organisation based within the Chesterfield area is seeking a technical, friendly, and determined Service Desk Technician to join their team on a permanent basis! This organisation offers incredible benefits, including 30 days holiday plus bank holidays, with flexible working hours allowing your shift to take place anytime between 8 am – 6 pm during a 37.5 hour working...

Read more

Technology Lead

London - North / £85,000

A leading Law Firm in UK and Europe is seeking a Technology Lead to manage the technical Infrastructure and Applications teams delivering operational activities, change and support the Head of Technology (HOT) deliver the IT objectives. This role is paying circa £85,000 and is hybrid (2 days work from home and 3 days in the central...

Read more
View all live jobs

IT Salary Guide 2023

With the well documented shortage of IT skills putting pressure on businesses across the UK, demand for Information Technology skills is at an all-time high.

Stay informed with the very latest IT salary data to maintain and attract key talent. Explore salaries for IT roles in your region.

IT Salary Guide

finance professionals

Looking to hire?

More than 20,000 people register with the Ashdown Group every month. We have access to hundreds of high-calibre professionals living within an easy commute of your business.